Being unable to eat gluten makes eating fast food difficult. Those types of restaurants only succeed by serving a limited variety of foods to the largest number of people; they simply can’t deal with food sensitivities or allergies. The one fast food restaurant I usually felt comfortable with was Taco Bell, because afterall – tortillas are made with corn, right? (Well, the hard tacos, anyway).
Hearing about the recent lawsuit against Taco Bell‘s beef content in the US had me curious – what is really in the beef at Taco Bell?
The Taco Bell website actually has a great section on food allergies and sensitivities (pdf). However, the information wasn’t quite what I wanted to see. The only item that didn’t contain wheat and gluten was the nachos and cheese. The hard tacos and nachos do not contain any wheat ingredients, however according to this list of ingredients the beef does.
So, looks like I won’t be visiting Taco Bell again any time soon. But that’s ok, cuz I’ve recently discovered an authentic Mexican restaurant in town, so perhaps that will be my replacement.